thisunreallife

Wife, mommy and domestic genious in training!

My sweet husband October 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jenny O @ 5:57 pm

I am convinced that my husband is a saint.  He loves me with an amazing love.  I just called him frazzled because Sarah has been fussy, we are leaving for Alabama for a football weekend (work, not play), and I couldn’t find the little cooler to pack her food in.  I would say that I was so sweet and loving to him not my sweetest to him when asking if he knew where the cooler was.  Then, he lovingly told me he had it in his hand?  And I proceeded to interrogate him for three minutes to make sure it was the right one.  He patiently answered my questions until I was assured it was the right one and our precious baby wouldn’t starve because we didn’t have her cooler for her food.   He told me he got us a suite, instead of a room (better for sleeping with baby who is just learning to sleep thru the night!)  and to take my time, there is no rush.  Did I mention this trip is part of his job?  Or that he has had an insane week at work?  That he has gone out of his way to get a bigger rental car and hotel room for our my comfort?

I was feeling so sorry for myself at all I had to do.  The Lord spoke softly to me (you know, they way only he can do – straight to your heart) and said “Remember, child, you want to be a wife he always wants to come home to.”  Wow!  That hurts…So, I decided to write this blog about how great he is.  Then, while I was typing, another still, small voice said “Why are you telling the world and not him…call him!”  Umm, ok.  So I just called my love and he was so loving to me.  He is a saint.

For so many years I wondered if I would ever get married.  Then, I thought, geez, I am so old, if I do get married there will be something really wrong with the guy.  Well, as it turns out, the Lord was waiting on me to get ready for my love.  God knew exactly what he was doing when he brought Tom to me.  He loves me.  He balances me.  He appreciates me.  He makes me laugh.  He makes me smile.  He makes me want to be the wife he thinks I am.  He challenges me to grow closer to the Lord.  He challenges me to be more humble.  He loves me.  He thinks I am pretty (even at my worst).  He works so hard so I can fulfill my lifelong dream to be a stay-at-home-mommy with our kiddos.  He fixes my toothbrush at night. He takes out the trash.  He loves me, oh wait, did I mention that already?

Jeremiah 29:11 is my life verse, but I also love 12-13:  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (12) Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. (13) You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

AMAZING what happens when we earnestly seek the Lord with our lives…he answers us even when we don’t ask him to.  He really was working in my life all those years.

Recently, I have been really heart broken by bad health diagnoses, lives lost too early, divorce, etc. among our friends.  These things always make me appreciate Tom and his love and loyalty more and more.  But, working to appreciate him in the everyday little details is just as important – maybe even more.

So, I am not always sure that I am a wife that my husband should always want to come home too, but he still does and he is always happy to be here.  I am so blessed and I love Tom more than I could ever express.

 

4 Responses to “My sweet husband”

  1. Patti Morris Says:

    Jenny- what an inspiration to read! Thanks for sharing!
    Our God is always Faithful !:)

  2. Connie H Says:

    He is a good son-in-law also. He always makes me feel welcomed and is very thoughtful. And he is good to you and my sweet granddaughter. What more could a
    Mother ask for?

  3. Beth Watkins Says:

    I think you found a keeper! Thanks for sharing, and for inspiring me (read stepping on my toes) to treat MY keeper better than I do! Love you all.

  4. David Humphreys Says:

    He is a wonderful man and married to a wonderful woman!


Leave a Reply

